Errors in the Cedar Rapids Gazette

I found several errors in a Cedar Rapids gazette article.

Firstly, I think there should be a comma after “Peterson” to create a slight pause because it reads weirdly if there isn’t a comma after the name “Peterson”.

Correction: Peterson, her daughter Tabitha McGraw, 24……

Original:

Peterson her daughter Tabitha McGraw, 24, and grand daughter Avah, 3, sat on the front porch of neighbor Smith. The two families met during the 2008 flood, they said, and planned to stick together this time around, too.

Secondly, the sentence below sounds confusing because I don’t know who is saying what.

 “If the water comes on the street, we are going,” Peterson said. “We won’t risk our lives for our house. Smith added, ““My husband or I will be up, or our neighbors will call us, or we will call them to let them know if the water is rising,” Smith said. “That’s what we do.”

If Peterson was quoted saying the one in red, then there should be a closing quotation mark after “our house”. Appropriately, the writer doesn’t need the part “Smith added” because he already attributed the quote to Smith later.

Also, I find it weird that there are two beginning quotation marks for the sentence below. There should only be one quotation mark.

““My husband or I will be up, or our neighbors will call us, or we will call them to let them know if the water is rising,”

Correction:  “My husband or I will be up, or our neighbors will call us, or we will call them to let them know if the water is rising,” Smith said. “That’s what we do.”

I would separate Peterson and Smith’s quotes because it gets confusing for me when I read it quickly.

Thirdly, I found the highlighted part in the sentence below weird. What are go bags? Or is the word “go” a typo?

Andrea Abernathy, 47, who lives on I Avenue, said she has go bags filled, dog and cat food packaged, and is ready to leave if necessary, but she plans to wait out.

Fourthly, the highlighted part of the quote below is a typo. I believe they meant: “We’ve already got things” Not “go things”

Original

“I feel pretty safe,” she said. “We are watching what is happening. We’ve already go things put up on the first floor.”

Leave a Reply

